Review: Vampyr

Vampyr is a horror action-RPG. The game is set in 2018 during the Spanish flu and the player takes control of Jonathan Reid, who is a Doctor, and has now awakened as a vampire.

Dr. Reid is torn between his oath as a Doctor and his new bloodthirsty nature. Although you are a vampire, you don’t have to embrace (kill) any citizens during the game. There are four endings all of which are occur depending on your choices during the course of the game.

During my playthrough, I decided to do a pacifist run. I embraced no one, which definitely made it harder to level my character. I leveled my weapons since leveling my vampire abilities wasn’t much of an option.

There are dialogue choices when talking to characters which is both great and frustrating. If you chose wrong, you’ll lose out on a hint about the character and you can’t redo it. Once the hint is gone, it’s gone.

The combat also could have been more fluid. Battling could be tough, especially when it came to bosses. For me, the hardest boss was Geoffrey McCullum. I died many times trying to fight him. The only boss I didn’t even died once while fighting was the final one, which was surprising. The easiest boss in the whole game was the final one.

It’s a semi-open world, which I liked. I had a fun time exploring all the districts, all the houses, stores, and everything else. The constant running back and forth for missions and sidequests could be a bit repetitive though.

The game intertwines history and vampires, which I liked. I really enjoyed the story and some of the characters in the game. There are definitely citizens I wanted to badly embrace but I remained a good vampire Doctor. I really liked the main character and some of the other ones like Old Bridget. The voice acting was pretty good as well.

Despite its combat being frustrating and the hard leveling for a pacifist run, I truly loved this game. It’s one that I just wanted to keep playing. The story intrigued me. It had characters I loved and hated. And there is quite a bit to do in the game besides just the main missions.

It was fun. It was different. I kind of hope they make a sequel. And there is going to be a TV show based from this game, which I will be watching.

This game was awesome. It’s one I recommend.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started